travel to abu dhabi

Travel to Abu Dhabi: 12 Countries in Green List

Abu Dhabi travel authorities have updated its list of green countries. Citizens and tourists from countries like Australia, Hong Kong, Singapore, New Zealand, and China can now travel to UAE’s capital without being subject to quarantine.

As of the 21st of March, Abu Dhabi’s green list includes the following countries:

  • Australia
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • China
  • Greenland
  • Hong Kong (SAR)
  • Iceland
  • Mauritius 
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore

Travel officials will constantly update the list based on new health and safety developments in the countries of origin.

Worry-Free Travel to Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi tourists and visa holders departing from countries included on the list don’t have to undergo quarantine upon arrival. But if you’re planning travel to Abu Dhabi and you come from any of these countries, you still have to undergo a PCR test at the airport. You may also need to get tested before departure. This is why you have to make sure to check with your local airline and travel officials. 

If you’re planning on visiting Abu Dhabi and your country isn’t on the list, you’ll have to undergo quarantine for ten days. You can spend isolation in a hospital, a hotel, or at home. The UAE issues electronic armbands to ensure strict compliance to quarantine rules.

If you come from any of the countries that UAE travel authorities deem high risk, you may have to spend quarantine in a government facility.

It’s also important to note that everyone who travels to Abu Dhabi must have the Al Hosn app installed on their mobile phones. This is the official testing and contact tracing app developed by UAE health authorities in the battle against the pandemic.

Travel from Dubai to Abu Dhabi

If you’re traveling from Dubai to Abu Dhabi, there are certain restrictions in place. First, you must present a negative COVID-19 test result issued within the last 48 hours. You will also have to undergo a PCR test at the border. If you come from any of the green countries listed above, you will be subject to another test on Day 6 with no need for quarantine. If your country of origin isn’t included in the green list, you will have to take a PCR test twice: upon arrival and on Day 8. You’ll also have to comply with the 10-day quarantine period.

Travel to Abu Dhabi from Other Emirates

Essentially, the same rules apply if you travel to Abu Dhabi from the other Emirates. Aside from negative PCR test results, you may also present negative laser DPI blood test results. These must be issued within 24 hours before entry to the capital. Based on the period of stay and type of tests undergone, Abu Dhabi tourists and residents may need to undergo additional tests.

Travel to Dubai

In Dubai, arrivals must present a negative PCR test taken no more than 72 hours before departure from the originating country. The same applies to passengers who are only transiting to Dubai. Some residents might have to be tested again at the airport on arrival and must remain in quarantine while waiting for test results. UAE nationals are exempt although they would still have to take a PCR test upon arrival at the airport.

United Arab Emirates Travel Updates

Stay informed about the latest travel announcements in the UAE. Rules are constantly changing as global authorities continue to initiate mass vaccinations and implement health safety protocols in the fight against COVID-19. A few countries around the world have already eased travel restrictions to passengers who can present proof of vaccination.